Mayor Murray Announces Unsanctioned Encampments Cleanup Protocols Task Force Participants, Schedule

Information provided by the the City of Seattle

Mayor Ed Murray announced the full list of participants in the Unsanctioned Encampments Cleanup Protocols Task Force today, as well as the schedule of meetings beginning tonight, August 31, 2016, at 6pm in the Bertha Knight Landes room at City Hall. The task force, organized with Councilmember Sally Bagshaw, will meet at least weekly through the end of September, by which time legislation will be presented to City Council to update the cleanup protocol. Co-chaired by Sally Clark and David Moseley, the task force encompasses key stakeholders who will seek to improve clarity, coordination and outreach, as well as ways to address public health and safety issues and storage of belongings.

“Like many communities on the West Coast, Seattle is facing a homelessness crisis that we are working to address with compassion and by focusing on getting as many people into housing as possible,” said Mayor Murray. “As a city, that means both doing everything we can for those who are living on our streets and ensuring we are addressing any emerging public health and safety issues. I look forward to recommendations from the task force on how we can make this process work better for all involved.”

The task force will hold weekly meetings beginning August 31. Each meeting will include sections for public comment and task force members may invite subject matter experts and community representatives to present information. The task force will work to make recommendations in September, with legislation expected to be transmitted by the end of the month.

The full list of task force members is below:



Alison Eisinger

Seattle King County Coalition on Homelessness

Bill Hallerman

Catholic Community Services

Chloe Gale

REACH/Evergreen Treatment Services

Daniel Malone

Downtown Emergency Services Center

Dave McCormick


David Moseley (Co-chair)

Former Director of Washington State Ferries

Don Blakeney

Downtown Seattle Association

Gretchen Taylor

Neighborhood Safety Alliance

Janet Pope

Compass Housing Alliance

Katy Miller

US Interagency Council on Homelessness

Kima Yandall

SODO Business Improvement Area

Leslie Smith

Alliance for Pioneer Square

Marcos Martinez

Casa Latina

Mark Putnam

All Home King County

Eric Stoll

Ballard Chamber of Commerce

Pradeepta Upadhyay

InterIm CDA

Sally Clark (Co-chair)

University of Washington

Sheila Sebron

Health Care for the Homeless Network

We encourage our readers to comment. No registration is required. We ask that you keep your comments free of profanity and keep them civil. They are moderated and objectionable comments will be removed.