Photo courtesy of Ballard High School
The Ballard High Film and Video students, from left to right: Front Row: Sage Borlo, Tristram Fetters, Ana Krafchick, Mackenzie Wright, Bryan Quandt. Back Row: Julian Amrine, Jacob Scott, Joshua Vredevoogd, Kenton King, Paris Burhen. Not Pictured: Sam Baldwin, Brian Cropp, Vann Fulfs, Ariahna Ghormley, Taylor Martin, DJ McCoy, Gabe Tagulao, Louis Weissman

Ballard High film students nominated for Emmy awards

From Ballard High School

The Northwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) has announced nominees for the Northwest High School Awards of Excellence. These awards celebrate the most outstanding productions from five Northwest states: Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Alaska. Productions are nominated by a jury of NATAS industry professionals. Students from the Ballard High School Video Production Program earned eight nominations. The winners will be announced on June 15 at the 50th Annual Regional Emmy Awards ceremony.

Ballard’s nominations span four categories, reflecting the diverse skills students learn in the program. These are the nominations by category.

Community/Public Service Announcements:

Anti-Littering by Tristram Fetters, DJ McCoy & Sage Borlo

Not Even Once by Sam Baldwin, Paris Burhen, Brian Cropp & Gabriel Tagulao

Long-Form, Fiction:

The Godsend by DJ McCoy

Long-Form, Non-Fiction:

Impact by Kenton King, Jacob Scott & Mackenzie Wright

My Little Brony by Vann Fulfs, Taylor Martin & Bryan Quandt


Dream House by Ariahna Ghormley, Ana Krafchick & Louis Weissman

Nordic Heritage Museum by Julian Amrine & Joshua Vredevoogd

Sundown by Vann Fulfs, Bryan Quandt & Jacob Scott

This makes the seventh year in a row that Ballard High School video producers have been nominated. Last year they received 7 nominations and won the categories of Long Form, Fiction and Photographer/Editor.

For more information on the Ballard High School Video Production Program, visit

Follow Ballard News-Tribune on Facebook at

And Twitter at

We encourage our readers to comment. No registration is required. We ask that you keep your comments free of profanity and keep them civil. They are moderated and objectionable comments will be removed.